12 Jul 2020

Indian National Commission for Cooperation with UNESCO (INCCU)2 min read

Recently the HRD Minister chaired the meeting of INCCU

What is INCCU?

It is a governmental body formed by the Government of India which functions under the Department of Secondary and Higher Education in the Ministry of Human Resource Development. The objective of the commission is to advise the Government in matters relating to the UNESCO

Functions of the Commission are:

  • To promote understanding of the objects and purposes of UNESCO among the people of the Republic of India
  • To serve as a liaison agency between the Government of India and the institutions concerned with the working for the advancement of education, science and culture
  • To co-operate with the Government departments and with services, organizations and institutions concerned with questions within UNESCO’s competence
  • To encourage the participation of national, governmental and non-governmental institutions and various individuals in the formulations and execution of UNESCO’s programmes so as to secure for UNESCO all the intellectual, scientific artistic or administrative assistance that it may require
  • To collaborate with the National Commissions of Asia and the Pacific and with UNESCO’s Regional Offices and centers in fostering regional, sub-regional and bilateral co-operation in education, the sciences, culture and information, particularly through the joint formulation and execution of programmes
  • To disseminate information on the objectives, programme and activities of UNESCO and endeavor to arouse public interest in them and
  • To advise the Government of India on matters relating to UNESCO.

Office bearers:

  • The Minister of Human Resource Development shall be the President of the Commission. He/She presides over the meetings of the commission, in the absence of the President, the Commission may elect a Chairman from among the members present to preside over each meeting
  • The Secretary to the Government of India in the Department of Higher Education, Ministry of Human Resource Development is the Secretary-General of the commission and remains in overall charge of the work of the Commission
  • The Joint Secretary dealing with UNESCO in the Department of Higher Education is the Deputy Secretary-General of the Commission and shall in the absence of Secretary-General, act as overall in-charge of the work of the Commission;
  • An officer of the Ministry of Human Resource Development to be nominated by the Ministry of Human Resource Development is the Secretary of the Commission. The Secretary prepares the agenda for its meetings and attends to the day-to-day work connected with the affairs of the Commission.


  • The membership of the commission consists of the members of five Sub-Commissions namely, Sub-Commission for (i) education; (ii) Natural Sciences; (iii) Social Sciences; (iv) Culture; and (v) Communication.
  • The membership of the commission is of two categories; (1) Individual; and (2) Institutional.
  • Each Sub-Commission consists of not more than ten “Individual” and ten “Institutional” members
  • The President nominates individual members in their personal capacity from among eminent educationists/eminent scientists/persons distinguished in the fields of Social Sciences, Humanities and Culture/persons distinguished in the field of Communication.
  • Members hold office for a term of four years.

4 Responses

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This