25 Apr 2020

Vikram Sarabhai Centenary Programme (contributions)Quick read

Context: The 100th birthday of Vikram Sarabhai falls on August 12, 2019

  • To commemorate this important event, ISRO and DAE propose to conduct various programmes at national level during the centenary year.
  • ISRO award-  The Vikram Sarbhai Journalism award in Space Science Technology and Research will be given to those journalists who have contributed to the fields of space science, applications and research
  • Even the lander of Chandrayaan-2 has been named after him. ISRO has announced an award in the name of Vikram Sarabhai on his 100th birthday


  • He is the founder of ISRO (Indian Space Research Organisation) and is known as the Father of the Indian Space Program
  • He established Physical Research Laboratory (PRL) in Ahmedabad on 11 November, 1947 which was the first laboratory of independent India.
  • He is the founding director of the Indian Institute of Management (IIM), Ahmedabad, 1961
  • He played a crucial role in establishing the Centre for Environmental Planning and Technology University (CEPT University) in Ahmedabad in 1962
  • He established the Nehru Foundation for Development in 1965 which focus on the current problems of society and individual development.
  • He also established Vikram A. Sarabhai Community Science Centre (VASCSC) in 1960s with an aim to promote science and mathematics education among students and general public.
  • Dr, Homi Bhabha  helped Vikram Sarabhai in setting up the first rocket launching station at Thumba on the coast of the Arabian Sea
  • He was also the chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission.
  • As a result of Dr. Sarabhai’s dialogue with NASA in 1966, the Satellite Instructional Television Experiment (SITE) was launched during July 1975 – July 1976 
  • Dr. Sarabhai started a project for the fabrication and launch of an Indian Satellite. As a result, the first Indian satellite, Aryabhata, was put in orbit in 1975 from a Russian Cosmodrome.

Other Institutions associated

  • Darpan Academy for Performing Arts, Ahmedabad 
  • Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvananthapuram
  • Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad (This institution came into existence after merging six institutions/centres established by Sarabhai)
  • Faster Breeder Test Reactor (FBTR), Kalpakkam
  • Variable Energy Cyclotron Project, Calcutta
  • Electronics Corporation of India Limited (ECIL), Hyderabad
  • Uranium Corporation of India Limited (UCIL), Jaduguda, Bihar

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This