21 Jan 2020

DRDO Young Scientist Laboratories (DYSLs) Quick read


Source: PIB

Recently Prime Minister has dedicated to the nation 5 Young Scientists Laboratories of Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), in Bengaluru. 

5 DRDO Young Scientist Laboratories

DRDO Young Scientist Laboratories (DYSLs) are located in five cities viz, Bengaluru, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata and Hyderabad

What these DYSLs will do?

Each lab will work on a key advanced technology of importance to the development of futuristic defence systems viz, 

  • Artificial intelligence
  • Quantum technologies
  • Cognitive technologies
  • Asymmetric technologies and 
  • Smart materials.

Research in the area of rapidly evolving Artificial Intelligence will be carried out at Bengaluru. The all-important area of Quantum Technology will be based out of IIT Mumbai. The future is dependent on Cognitive Technologies and IIT Chennai will house the lab embarking in this area of research. New and futuristic area of Asymmetric Technologies, which will change the way wars are fought, will be based out of the campus of Jadavpur University, Kolkata. The research in the hot and critical area of Smart Materials and their applications will be based out of Hyderabad.

Significance of the move 

The establishment of the five DRDO Young Scientist Labs lays down the foundation for research and development of futuristic technologies. It will be a big leap forward for DRDO  from the goal of making India self-reliant to future-ready in defence technologies.

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This