9 Dec 2019

The National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project (NRCMP)Quick read

Source: National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project (NCRMP) portal

The Government of India has initiated the National Cyclone Risk Mitigation Project (NCRMP) with a view to address cyclone risks in the country.The overall objective of the Project is to undertake suitable structural and non-structural measures to mitigate the effects of cyclones in the coastal states and UTs of India

Project objectives

The Project development objective of the NCRMP is to reduce vulnerability of coastal communities to cyclone and other hydro meteorological hazards through;

  1. Improved early warning dissemination systems
  2. Enhanced capacity of local communities to respond to disasters
  3. Improved access to emergency shelter, evacuation, and protection against wind storms, flooding and storm surge in high areas
  4. Strengthening DRM capacity at central, state and local levels in order to enable mainstreaming of risk mitigation measures into the overall development agenda.

Cyclone prone states identified by the project

The Project has identified 13 cyclone prone States and Union Territories (UTs), with varying levels of vulnerability. These States/UT have further been classified into two categories,based on the frequency of occurrence of cyclone,size of population and the existing institutional mechanism for disaster management. These categories are:

  • Category I: Higher vulnerability States i.e. Andhra Pradesh,Gujarat,Odisha,Tamil Nadu and West Bengal.
  • Category II: Lower vulnerability States i.e Maharashtra, Karnataka, Kerala, Goa, Pondicherry, Lakshadweep,Daman and Diu, Andaman and Nicobar Islands.

The Financing

  • The Financing and Project Agreements relating to NCRMP were signed between the Department of Economic Affairs, World Bank and some of the State Governments(Phase-I)
  •  Government of India has approved Phase-II in July,2015 for five years up to March, 2020 covering States of Goa, Gujarat, Karnataka, Kerala, Maharashtra and West Bengal with world bank funding


National Disaster Management Authority (NDMA) under the aegis of Ministry of Home Affairs(MHA) will implement the Project in coordination with participating State Governments and the National Institute for Disaster Management (NIDM).

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This