13 Nov 2019

The Ayeyawady-Chao Phraya-Mekong Economic Cooperation Strategy(ACMECS)Quick read

Source: PIB & Asia Regional Integration Center

India recently joined as a development partner of the ACMECS 

Objectives of ACMECS

  • To increase competitiveness and generate greater growth along the borders.
  • To facilitate the relocation of agricultural and manufacturing industries to areas with comparative advantage.
  • To create employment opportunities and reduce income disparity among the four countries.
  • To enhance peace, stability and shared prosperity for all in a sustainable manner.


  • ACMECS is a cooperation framework among Cambodia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Myanmar, Thailand, and Viet Nam to utilize member countries’ diverse strengths and to promote balanced development in the subregion.
  • Prime Minister Thaksin Shinawatra of Thailand initiated the establishment of this cooperation framework in April 2003. 
  • The areas of cooperation include, among others, transport, and trade and investment facilitation.

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This