12 Nov 2019

UNESCO has designated Mumbai & Hyderabad UNESCO Creative Cities NetworkQuick read

Source: Press Information Bureau

UNESCO has designated Mumbai as a member of UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) in the field of FILM and Hyderabad in the field of GASTRONOMY.

About UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) 

  • The UNESCO Creative Cities Network (UCCN) was created in 2004 to promote cooperation with and among cities that have identified creativity as a strategic factor for sustainable urban development
  • The UNESCO Creative Cities Network now counts a total of 246 cities.
  • The member cities that form part of the Network come from all continents and regions with different income levels and populations. 
  • The Creative Cities Network is a privileged partner of UNESCO, not only as a platform for reflection on the role of creativity as a lever for sustainable development but also as a breeding ground of action and innovation, notably for the implementation of the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.
  • They work together towards a common mission: placing creativity and the creative economy at the core of their urban development plans to make cities safe, resilient, inclusive and sustainable, in line with the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

The 7 categories for recognition under UCCN are;

  1. Crafts and Folk Arts
  2. Design
  3. Film
  4. Gastronomy
  5. Music
  6. Media Arts
  7. Literature

Previously, 3 Indian cities were recognized as members of UCCN, namely-

  •  Jaipur-Crafts and Folk Arts(2015)
  • Varanasi-Creative city of Music (2015)
  • Chennai-Creative city of Music(2017)

Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This