17 Oct 2019

Global Goalkeepers Goals Award

Source: Website of Global Goalkeepers Goals Award

Recently Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi received Global Goalkeepers Goals Award 2019 for his leadership and commitment to the Swachch Bharat Abhiyaan.

About Goalkeepers, Global Goals Awards

  • In 2015, world leaders agreed to 17 Global Goals for Sustainable Development to achieve a better world by 2030. Started by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, Goalkeepers is a catalyst for action toward these goals—bringing together leaders from around the world to accelerate progress toward ending poverty and fighting inequality
  • These Awards tell the extraordinary stories of remarkable individuals taking action to bring the Global Goals to life and help achieve them by 2030. These influencers, both emerging and established, are in turn inspiring local and global audiences to engage with and support the progress of the Goals. 
  • Goalkeepers is dedicated to accelerating progress towards the Global Goals: using powerful stories, data, and partnerships to highlight progress achieved, hold governments accountable and bring together a new generation of leaders to address the world’s major challenges.

Who are Goalkeepers? 

Goalkeepers are leaders who take a stand on the issues they care about and innovate in their communities to achieve the Global Goals.

Awards categories

The 2019 Goalkeepers, Global Goals Awards categories and respective criteria are as follows: 

  1. Progress Award (age 16 – 30): The Global Goals Progress Award celebrates the achievement of an individual who is supporting progress for the Goals via a science, technology, digital or business led initiative. 
  2. Changemaker Award (age 16 – 30): The Global Goals Changemaker Award celebrates the achievement of an individual who has inspired Goal related change using their personal experience or from a position of leadership.
  3. Campaign Award (age 16 – 30): The Global Goals Campaign Award celebrates a campaign (individual or group) that has raised awareness or built a community in support of a Goal related cause, inspiring action and creating change. 
  4. Goalkeepers Voice Award (any age): This special recognition celebrates a global figure for influential and impactful campaigning and advocacy work in support of the Global Goals. They will be recognized for using their platform, their position of influence, and their voice to raise awareness and advocate for their chosen causes.
  5. Global Goalkeeper Award (any age): This special recognition celebrates a political leader who has demonstrated their commitment to the Global Goals through impactful work in their country and/or globally.