14 Aug 2019

National Entrepreneurship Awards(NEA)

Source: website of NEA

Key highlights 

  • The Ministry of Skill Development and Entrepreneurship (MSDE) has instituted the National Entrepreneurship Awards (NEA) in 2016
  • It seeks to recognise and honor outstanding young first generation Entrepreneurs and their Ecosystem Builders for their outstanding contribution in entrepreneurship development.
  • The Awards also seek to highlight models of excellence for others to emulate and improve upon.
  • The National Entrepreneurship Awards (NEA) 2019 is  the 4th edition in the NEA series.
  • Common Criteria for all Enterprise Award Categories:Applicable for Enterprise Award Categories, A1, A2, A3, including General and Special Category Awardees)
  1. Entrepreneur’s age should be below the age of 40 years as on April 1st, 2019
  2. The candidate should be a First-Generation Entrepreneur/s. The definition of a first-generation entrepreneur for the scheme is “An entrepreneur who is not in the same line of business as his/her parent. They should have started the enterprise on their own initiative, idea or innovation”

Types of Awards under NEA

Award categories in Goods

  • Textiles, leather and related goods
  • Agri, food and forestry products
  • Chemicals, pharma, bio and other processed materials
  • Engineering systems
  • Renewable energy and waste management
  • Handicrafts, traditional manufacturing & other goods

Award categories in Services

  • IT & ITES, Financial
  • Education
  • Healthcare
  • Hospitality
  • E-Commerce, logistics, transport & other services

Additionally awards will be presented to the best entrepreneurs in the following categories

  • Social Enterprises
  • Women Entrepreneur 
  • Entrepreneur from SC/ST Category
  • Entrepreneur from Persons with Disability (PwD) category
  • Entrepreneur from Difficult Areas
  • Barefoot Enterprises